Days without runs

When I decide that I want to qualify ‘fit’ to run marathons, I need to dedicate myself to a routine that helps me reach that particular goal.

BUT

There are days without runs,

When I decide I need to slow down on my running days and have days when I do yoga or strengthening, I need to make a schedule in such a way that I do not break my flow of my running, but still develop my muscles and become stronger.

BUT STILL,

There are days without runs,

When I want to resume my workout and runs and the action goes as per plan for two weeks.

I SUDDENLY REALISE

There are still those two days without runs.

THEN when it is race day, I expect to run my PB and get depressed when I do not achieve it and then go back and binge eat/drink

(Then i do not remember those days without runs)

How common is this?

You plan to go running everyday and Sunday is a LDR and then something comes up and you have to cancel the 10k you planned to run today.

Then if you measure your running time, you see it slowly dropping down and you blame those

…days without runs.

 

So here is the deal, lets take another example.

I plan to limit my coffee intake to 2 cups per day, which makes it 14 cups a week and 60 cups a month. But then there are ‘those days’ when I end up having 5 cups, say those days are 5 in a month, which takes the monthly count to- 75

Now, how can I still expect to have 60 cups at the end of the month?

Similarly, if you do not run for a planned running/training day and that happens 5 times a month, how can you expect to achieve the target that is planned for on the first day of the month?

There is something called as RESCHEDULING and REASSESSMENT 

Once we know we’ve missed two days of workout or running in a particular week, always reassess your goals/performance targets and then go ahead. Though missing two days in a week may not mean a lot, but doing this often and keeping the same performance target for a month does not add up to the effort put it.

327e5a63266851026ae89d3121745a19

Some ways to maintain goals and reassessments:

  1. Maintain a diary– You may have a log or an online update with your performance timing and distance. But try to maintain a count of the days you did not run/ ran lesser than you wanted to/ ran more than you wanted to.
  2. Assess the diary weekly– On a Sunday, maybe after completing your LDR, try to assess your goals, and reset some if you feel you may take longer to achieve some.
  3. Set realistic goals– The most common advice when it comes to goal setting. This means not setting goals like increasing 10 push ups to the current count, next week, but then not doing any amount of push ups for this week and still expecting to hit the additional repetitions for next week.
  4. Be aware of your body- While resuming your workout after a gap of 4 days or a week or so, make sure your do how much your feel you can run. This feeling is not that of too much of motivation to get back to the timing, but the feeling that your body is giving. If you feel tired and out of breath, listen to your body and take a pause.
  5. Enjoy the runs– Do not stress a lot on the PB especially while doing your regular morning runs. Otherwise many forget to enjoy the feeling of running with passion and happiness. While running, just focus on that feeling, not on the time taken to cover a particular distance and then stressing about the fact you wont be able to complete it within the time you expected. That will make your performance worse.

So, learn to understand the relation between your goals, the breaks and your performance. If one changes, you need to make sure your expectations and variables in the other two also change.

Leave a Reply

